Children of the Desert

Big, sprawling, and complicated, the Children of the Desert series features characters who risk their lives for causes ranging from profound to exceptionally stupid.


A (very brief) glimpse at each book in turn:

SecretsGalleryIn Secrets of the Sands (book one), a young noblewoman intervenes with the king on behalf of a servant –- and lands herself in a complex mess that changes every aspect of her life as repercussions unroll across the following books.

My favorite line: “Why would I hit the floor, it hasn’t done anything to me….”

GuardiansGalleryIn Guardians of the Desert (book two),  a cynical older statesman, deeply scarred by his recent experiences, tries to explain to that same young noblewoman how pointless it is to care about saving lives — then abandons his own advice in order to rescue her.

My favorite line: “And so I’m going to die because you pissed Lord Evkit off?”

BellsGalleryIn Bells of the Kingdom (book three), a former street thief faces the reality — and the downside — of recently acquired power over others. In his efforts to remain as human as possible, he causes more damage than he prevents — including to himself.

My favorite line: “[It] smells like a cow with diarrhea died and busted wide open.”

Fires of the Desert LargeIn Fires of the Desert (book four), as the various characters see small choices acquiring a lethal weight, mercy faces off with self-interest — and, more often than not, the very human survival imperative wins.

My favorite line: “Don’t tease the teyanain!”

In Servants of the Sands (book five, in progress), choices have cascaded, masks are being abandoned, the primary powers step out of the shadows — and the secret war for humanity’s survival is laid open for all to see. The series began with a noblewoman saving a servant; it may well end with a servant saving the world.

In Fallen City, a supplementary novelette best read, perhaps, after Guardians of the Desert, a bit of Deiq’s backstory is revealed, as is his involvement with the beginning of the Split that ultimately resulted in the desert Fortresses, distinct Families, and humanity turning from worship to fear of the ha’reye and ha’ra’hain.

For more specific information on each of the books, please wander amongst the following links, or visit Leona Wisoker’s page at Reanimus Press:

The Print Books are available here:

Secrets of the Sands

Guardians of the Desert

Bells of the Kingdom

Fires of the Desert

Servants of the Sands (IN EDITORIAL!!!)

Fallen City (supplementary novella)

A Small Price To Pay (short story, online only)


Take advantage of options: print copies of the first four books of the Children of the Desert series are currently available through both The Scribbling Lion and Reanimus Press. If you want a copy of the original printing (from Mercury Retrograde Press), order from TSL now–those copies are running out! (and I ain’t just saying that as a sales pitch…. THREE copies of Secrets of the Sands are left with the MRx logo on the cover as of December 2015.)

Copyright © 2014-2017 The Writing of a Wisoker on the Loose All rights reserved.
This site is using the Multi Child-Theme, v2.2, on top of
the Parent-Theme Desk Mess Mirrored, v2.5, from